Our Risk and Operations Associate Connor is a good sport – on and off the hockey pitch (and tennis court!). Find out more about Connor’s vision for Sugar and where he’d go if he could travel anywhere in the world…

Tell Sugar readers a bit about your background.

I was born in Chelmsford, Essex and lived nearby until I went to boarding school at age 14 and then moved up to Scotland to study Philosophy and AI at the University of Edinburgh. I used to play hockey at International Academy level but after an injury I transitioned towards coaching and then management of the Business Society’s sports teams and it was through this role on the Business Society committee that I began to develop my interest in finance and tech startups.

Are you a gamer at heart and what was the last game you played?

Yes, I’ve always played casually. I have never considered myself to be a “hardcore” gamer but it’s been part of my routine to wind down and relax at the end of the day since my days of playing Spyro and Crash Bandicoot as a child. The last game I played was Rocket League with my brother, which for the uninitiated is essentially cars playing indoor football.

What did you want to do or be when you were younger?

I wanted to write and direct Hollywood movies like Tarantino, Scorsese or Wes Anderson. I’ve always been amazed at their ability to create such consistently unique and identifiable styles to their work.

Why did you join Sugar?

I believe that it occupies a key niche in the market. The management has a progressive and holistic approach to work-life balance and it’s two years old so it has a strong foundation but the excitement and energy of a start-up expanding and entering new markets.

Where do you hope Sugar will be in five years time?

I hope that Sugar will be the default financing option for gaming studios and app developers and that Sugar will have a permanent presence in the developer sections of the Google Play and iOS App stores.

What’s your work ethos and routine like?

I’m fairly traditional and unexciting in terms of routine structure, I like to drink a lot of coffee, settle in for some dual-screen action and maintain consistent working hours to leave my evenings free to cook, see friends and play sports.

What do you like to do when you are not working?

I mostly like to spend time outdoors whether it’s playing sports, gardening or walking the dog and cats in the woods. I’m also a big film and music buff so I’ve spent a lot of time building my record collection over lockdown and I’m currently working on my debut novel.

Do you have any pets?

Yes, I’m based out in the Essex countryside at the moment so I have quite a few; my border terrier Toffee, two cats Leon and Elise, a pony Bracken, a horse Tess and 5 free-range hens.

How do you keep healthy?

I’m a keen sportsman and am currently a regular at my local tennis club and have just bought myself a new Boardman road bike. I also coach two of the teams at my Hockey Club and run junior goalkeeping sessions on the weekends.

Do you cook and what’s your favourite thing to eat?

I love cooking but have never been one to follow recipes religiously so most of my dishes involve improv and substitution. Recently I’ve been making a lot of Thai and Mexican food, but slow-cooked Italian ragu has to be my favourite.

If you could pick any super power, what would it be and why?

I’ve been in love with Marvel movies since the Raimi-Maguire Spiderman trilogy and always dreamt of web-swinging through the NYC skyline – but the ability to pause/manipulate time like Dr X or Dr Strange has to be the most powerful ability if faced with a supervillain.

If you could go on holiday now (dare to dream!) – where would you go?

I’d go to Mexico and really learn how to surf. I love that tranquil feeling of waiting for the next wave. I’d drink margaritas, eat tacos and dance in the evenings.

Share this on social media